Skip to content

COJUG Presentation: Unit Testing Case Study

May 13, 2010

On May 11th, 2010 I presented at the lunch and dinner Columbus Java Users Group meetings.  The talk was a case study of how the development team I’m on at Ohio Mutual Insurance Group got started with unit testing our legacy JEE system.  The main idea behind the presentation was to illustrate the hurdles the team had after deciding to write unit tests against our existing code base.  Using code, both live and test, I demonstrated some of the conundrums that gave us excuses to not write tests.  For each stumbling block I showed the technique that we used to finally just write the tests.  I started with some basic examples and finished with a more complex example that required mock objects to resolve.

Thanks to the attendees at the presentations.  There were many great questions, comments, and suggestions.  I thoroughly enjoyed myself and learned from everyone I interacted with.

From the reaction I received at the COJUG meetings I realize that my team is not alone in our experience.  Over the next few weeks I will be blogging on the “excuses” we had for not testing right away.  I’ll explore the issue more thoroughly than I was able to in the COJUG presentation by walking through one problem at a time.  Stay tuned and leave comments!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

